What was I up to all summer, you ask??

The answer to that question lies in one word, repeated three times: Camps, camps, camps! Lucky for me, there are three other PC volunteers from the group before me (GUY 24) living here in Linden, and I got to participate in three different youth camps spanning about 6 out of the 8 weeks of summer. Needless to say, I stayed pretty busy and therefore was able to hold on to the shred of sanity I still had upon arrival here in LindenTown 😉

The first camp I helped with was a week-long camp for Primary School kids over in Amelia’s Ward ( a neighborhood within Linden). Every day we did a fun icebreaker, and the kids rotated through different activities including sports/outdoor games, arts & crafts, and then story time/indoor games. I was put in charge of sports/outdoor games…I will give those of you that fell out of your chairs laughing some time to pull yourself together…ya done?? Luckily I had my handy dandy “safety” whistle from my PC Med Kit to use in my new occupation as PE Teacher. Y’all I’m telling you–it was like herding cats. Really big cats. That could talk and yell. But with that being said, it was an absolute blast, and honestly I may have missed my calling! Blowing that whistle really gave me more satisfaction than it probably should have. Here are some pictures of the kids (I should note that on the last day we had something like 73 kids show up, compared to about 25 on day 1):

Making those children RUN. I was instructed to tire them out...

Making those children RUN. I was instructed to tire them out…

Musical Chairs. It got a little hairy at the end, but was a huge hit!

Musical Chairs. It got a little hairy at the end, but was a huge hit!

Relay Races. Needless to say, Guyanese children are incredibly competitive.

Relay Races. Needless to say, Guyanese children are incredibly competitive.

African Mask Day!

African Mask Day!

Learning how to mix paint colors

Learning how to mix paint colors

Attempting to get everyone in line

Attempting to get everyone in line

Two sassy little campers

Two sassy little campers

Story Time

Story Time

Completed World Map Mural #1

Completed World Map Mural #1

The second camp I participated in was with a local NGO here in Linden. It was 3 1/2 weeks (!!!) and we had a group of about 12-15 kids each day. Since the group size was smaller and more manageable and we had four hours a day to fill up, we were able to do some really cool arts & crafts projects with these kiddos, in addition to Life Skills sessions, LOTS of fun games, and even some Yoga! We also had time to do another wolrd map mural in the Children’s Room at the NGO facility. Far and away the most entertaining day was the last day, where we held a Camp Olympics in which two teams competed in all kinds of fun events. Check out some pics!

Colored sand day! We colored our own sand using crushed up sidewalk chalk.

Colored sand day! We colored our own sand using crushed up sidewalk chalk.

Oh ya know, just doing some Yoga with Guyanese children...

Oh ya know, just doing some Yoga with Guyanese children…

Pretty impressive, and SO proud!

Pretty impressive, and SO proud!

Definitely my favorite picture from this camp. The boys and their piñata "Sarah" who they promptly smashed to bits the next day amidst wails of "You killed Sarah!"

Definitely my favorite picture from this camp. The boys and their piñata “Sarah” who they promptly smashed to bits the next day amidst wails of “You killed Sarah!”

A camp Olympic even called 'Face the Cracker'...quite possibly the funniest thing I've ever watched.

A camp Olympic even called ‘Face the Cracker’…quite possibly the funniest thing I’ve ever watched.

Another finished World Map Mural

Another finished World Map Mural

Group Pic!

Group Pic!

And last but not least, myself and another volunteer worked at a two week beach football (soccer) camp, don’t worry people, I had nothing to do with the actual coaching of the soccer… Yes, I heard the collective sigh of relief when you read that part (MOM). We taught life skills sessions to a group of around 25 ten to sixteen year olds–twenty-something boys and four brave girls. As you can imagine this group was quite a challenge at times, but also a lot of fun. We were always amazed at how they still had the energy to give us a hard time after 2+ hours of running around in the SUN and SAND. Unfortunately I only got one picture from this camp, but at least it’s a good’un!

Most of the group with their completion certificates and Coach Rollin.

Most of the group with their completion certificates and Coach Rollin.

Leave a Reply

