Welp, I’m Here!!!

Hello everybody! Sorry it has taken me an incredibly long time to update, but things have just been crazy!!!

So, tomorrow marks the one month mark since my arrival in Guyana, and let me tell you, it has flown by. We have basically been in training every day except for maybe 3 since we got here. This is our first Saturday without classes, hence all the spare time for updating the blog.

A few updates: 1) I didn’t get assigned to the training group I wanted, but that’s ok. As most of you know, I reeeaaally wanted to be assigned to the hinterland (aka remote) training group, but as we so often are reminded in life, ya can’t always get what you want. So here I am in the coastal training group, and guess what? It’s great! We have a great group of volunteers and everyone is meshing really well. We are already down from 30 to 29, so hopefully everyone else can hang on for another month of training.

As far as living conditions, I am living in a mid-sized town not far from the town where our training site is. I live with my host family that consists of my host mom and dad and their 4 small children (ages 6, 5, 4, and 3). Living in such close quarters with so many people is both incredibly entertaining and chaotic at the same time. As most of you know, I really really enjoy alone time, so it has definitely been a challenge. But with that being said, I absolutely ADORE my host family. They have made me feel very welcome in their home and are taking incredible care of me too! The weather is…how shall I put this? I think it’s best to just say that drops of sweat are currently dripping from my face onto the computer keyboard, and today is a slightly cool day, haha. We are in the wet season though, so temperatures aren’t too high, but the humidity is borderline unbearable. The food has been awesome. My host mom is a really good cook, and so far I haven’t had one thing I didn’t like–except cow face. That wasn’t my fave.

I have gotten used to catching minibuses and navigating the “etiquette” that goes along with them. Unless your family has a car, they are the main mode of transportation here. Usually they are blasting soca music, or  reggae, or top 40 from the US like 6 months or a year ago. If anyone is needing practice letting go of control and/or facing their own mortality, hop on a minibus in Guyana–if someone in the US drove in the same fashion, suffice it to say they would be arrested for reckless endangerment. After about 2 days of white knuckling it, I finally just accepted it, and actually most of the drivers are very skilled and know exactly how to navigate around the goats, bicyclists, small children, horse carts, stray dogs, other minibuses, etc.

With that being said, I am running out of internet time…Expect another update in about two weeks time as I find out my site assignment (where I will be living for the next two years) on June 14th!! I love and miss you all terribly and promise to try to update every couple of weeks, or as much as I possibly can. OH, and shout out to Whitney, from whom I have already received not one, but TWO letters! The rest of you need to step up your game, because receiving mail is really, really exciting for us 🙂

8 thoughts on “Welp, I’m Here!!!

  1. Love you!!! So exciting to hear about everything!! I can’t wait to hear where you’ll be stationed… Is it gorgeous where u are???

    PS…I sent a letter when u were still here…haha…I’m a little worried I may have done something incorrectly:-/.

  2. Great update! Yeah, I unfondly remember those mini busses in Panama – the people weren’t so bad but the live chickens, occasional goat, and “fresh” fish were something else :>( Speaking of humidity, we’ve gotten almost 12″ of rain in the last three days and even made the Weather Channel multiple times with tornado and flash flood warnings! Can’t wait for the next update.. George and Jan

  3. Hi Jade! Just wanted you to know we were thinking of you and we miss you!

    Kevin, Jacey, Trent, and Hunter

  4. Jaderz!!!

    Glad to hear that you are doing well. Missing you this summer. Alaska is great, but never will be the same without you. I’m waiting for the next address, so I can send you some things. Anything in particular that you have been craving or need?

    Much Love,

    Pinder

Leave a Reply

