One. Week. Left.

With only one week left until I leave for staging, I have a lot going through my mind. The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity as I have been traveling across my fair state to visit people and say my “see ya laters”. First was my Tour de Tejas–I hit Dallas, Georgetown, New Braunfels, and finally San Antonio. A week after that it was off to Houston to attend my farewell crawfish boil–so much fun. I am very thankful to those that made it out to celebrate and especially to those that put the whole thing together! A week after that, I headed up to good ole Panhandle to say goodbye to my Dad and Pamela’s side of the family, and this Saturday, a Quitaque get together so I can see all of my Mom’s side–WHEW. Needless to say, I have felt very loved over the past few weeks and overwhelmed with the support that everyone has shown for this adventure.

With that being said, I suppose you could say that the reality of leaving has finally started to set in. I say finally because I was starting to wonder if I was ever going to start getting nervous, feeling anxious, or for lack of a better term, freaking out. I wouldn’t say that I have freaked out about leaving yet, but I have started to feel nervous and anxious. Luckily both of those emotions are far outweighed by the sense of excitement I feel! The following stream of consciousness is a pretty accurate portrayal of the thoughts that run through my head in any given hour.

I’m so excited!!! I should start packing. I hate packing. Ok, here goes. Is 17 tank tops too many? I wonder if you can buy <fill in the blank> down there. This will be difficult to hand wash…I’m taking it anyway, it’s cute. Do you actually think you will care about looking cute? Yes. Maybe. For the first two weeks. I still reeeaaally need to fill out that loan deferment paperwork. I hope people write me letters. Am I sure I am up to this? Geez, I am really addicted to texting, wonder what it will be like to not constantly have a phone. This packing thing isn’t so bad…wait, TWO years?! I cannot wait to meet everyone in my group. Will I have time to see the Liberty Bell during the 36 hours I am in Philadelphia? Pretty sure I am taking too many shoes. Come on Hammer, you’re good at minimalism, get it together! I still need to buy < fill in the blank>. Oh well, I won’t actually need that probably. What the hell am I doing with my life?! Loan paperwork, loan paperwork. Ugh, I should just call it a day and buzz my head. Can’t wait to meet my host family, I hope they have kids. Crap, I’m supposed to take gifts for my host family–what should I take? Can’t believe I’m actually doing it–after ten years of thinking about it. Eeeeeeeeek! LET’S DO THIS.

Annnnnnd repeat from beginning. Yes, this is meant to be comical. No, I am not having a complete mental breakdown 😉

For those that are curious, tune in tomorrow for a rundown of what the first couple of weeks, starting with staging in Philadelphia, will look like.

5 thoughts on “One. Week. Left.

  1. I love the stream-of-consciousness Jaders. So funny.

    You are doing something that is rather insane – giving up 1st world materialism, comfort, convenience and Maddie Jacobs, to go off into a 3rd world country most Americans can’t find on a map to live in poverty.

    Good luck with that.

    But seriously, you will have a blast! You are going to meet so many cool people down there and introduce them to corndogs and your Texas accent. Guyana will never be the same.

  2. I am so excited for and proud of you! I live in Philly, so let me know if there’s anything you need while you’re there. I know you’ll probably be super busy (and seeing me is so low on the priority scale here), but if you happen to have any time to spare I would love to see you!

    Know that I will be excitedly and jealously following your adventures 🙂 Miss you muchly!

    • Gwenieeeeeee Bear- I arrive on April 30th and once I check in, I don’t think I have any obligations that night. I am sure I’ll be busy getting to know the others, but not too busy for some FAI Local Day reminiscing with you! Keep your schedule free or else. Be waiting by the phone for my call! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

