” You’ve got to…

” You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way is to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it.”
— Steve Jobs

For those of you that know me, you know I have had a number of jobs over the years: retail buyer, different tourism jobs up in Alaska (4 summers worth), full-time nanny, executive assistant; I’ve worked in boutiques, a restaurant, a hair salon, gone to grad school, and completed student teaching. All of this in pursuit of that very elusive feeling  loosely dubbed “job satisfaction”. It is with this diverse, albeit random, experience under my belt that I prepare to embark upon my next adventure/”job”. Mostly I am starting this blog to chronicle the time between now and July 2015, the years that will henceforth be known as the Peace Corps Years…

I am departing April 30th or May 1st (exact date is unclear) to serve in the South American country of Guyana for 27 months. My job title this time around will be Community Education Promoter….More specifics of the job to be provided during in-country training, and exact specifics of the job to be provided never. There tends to be a lack of structure with most Peace Corps assignments, or as I view it, freedom to make the job your own 🙂

One thing I can say with absolute certainty is that I am thrilled about this opportunity, and excited for what the next couple of years have in store!

7 thoughts on “” You’ve got to…

  1. Hello Jade, Bless you and your new adventures. Wish you the very best. I will love hearing about your life. I will pass it on to Mom. Lord be with you sweetheart. You are a special young Lady! We love you.

  2. Jadders although we are going to miss you in Alaska, I can not wait to read your blog to see what exciting adventures you are doing, Be safe and remember we all love you!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

